Table of Contents

Standardized Testing and Reporting Program

A brief review of California’s Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program, which ends in the 2013–14 school year, provides a backdrop for a new  CCSS-aligned statewide assessment system.

In 1998, California implemented the STAR Program for all students. The state aligned the STAR Program tests to the adopted academic content standards. The majority of test questions are multiple-choice, with some writing samples. The STAR Program consists of the following four components:

  • The California Standards Tests (CSTs)
  • The California Modified Assessment (CMA)
  • The California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA)
  • The Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS)

STAR Program tests were designed to produce (1) school-, district-, county-, and state-level results that allow the state to monitor each school’s progress toward established state performance targets; and (2) results that allow the federal government to monitor the annual yearly progress of schools and local educational agencies (LEAs) toward meeting the accountability targets of the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as No Child Left Behind.

For additional information, visit the STAR Program Resources Web page.