Table of Contents

Unit 1: Examining the CCSS for Reading Literature and Informational Text

1.1.2 The Grade-level ELA and Literacy Standards

Now find your grade-level or content-area reading standards listed in the CCSS for ELA/Literacy (page numbers listed below). Notice how the ELA reading standards are divided into those for literature and those for informational text. For grades 6–12 there are also reading standards for literacy in history/social studies and for science and technical subjects. Take a moment to read through the standards relevant to your classroom.

CCSS ELA CoverCA CCSS for ELA/Literacy

  • Reading Standards for Literature
    • Grades K–5 pp.11–12
    • Grades 6–12 pp. 47–50
  • Reading Standards for Informational Text
    • Grades K–5 pp. 15–16
    • Grades 6–8 pp. 51–54
  • Reading Standards: Foundational Skills K–5 pp. 17–19

Grade 6–12 teachers should also look at the Reading Standards for Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects on the page numbers below.

  • Reading Standards for Literacy in History/Social Studies 6–12, pp. 81–82
  • Reading Standards for Literacy in Science and Technical Subjects 6–12, pp. 83–84
Time to Reflect

After reviewing the standards related to your classroom, consider the implications for your teaching practice and then answer the question below.



Login required to enable "Save Answers" feature.

Sample responses