Digital Chalkboard is shutting down and will no longer be available after January 26, 2022.
California is investing in a new curated repository of free, high-quality, open source instructional resources for local educational agencies and educators to use. Please visit California Educators Together and sign up for your free account today.
Please contact us at, if we can be of further assistance.

California's Common Core State Standards for Mathematics: Organization and Structure

Two Types of Standards for Mathematics

Time 2 Read

Read the following summary of key points about the CCSS for Mathematics. Note there are two types of standards: Standards for Mathematical Practice and Standards for Mathematical Content.

Standards for Mathematical Practice

  • Describe “varieties of expertise” students of all levels should develop
  • Rest on important “processes and proficiencies”
  • Describe ways in which students ought to “engage” with the mathematics


Standards for Mathematical Content

  • Provide a balance combination of procedure and understanding
  • Provide clear signposts along the way to the goal of college and career readiness for all students
  • Kindergarten through Eight (K–8) Standards
    • Grade specific
  • High School Standards
    • Listed in conceptual categories that portray a coherent view of mathematics
    • (+) Represents additional mathematics that students should learn in order to take advanced courses
    • (?) Represents specific modeling standards Read more…
Time 2 View

In this video, CCSS math team coordinators Professor William McCallum and Jason Zimba, Ph.D., discuss how the Standards for Mathematical Practice support learning of the Content Standards.

The Importance of Mathematical Practice  
Source: The Hunt Institute  Time 4:01