Shutting Down – This site will be shut down and unavailable after January 26, 2022.

California's Common Core State Standards for Mathematics: Organization and Structure

Two Types of Standards for Mathematics

Time 2 Read

Read the following summary of key points about the CCSS for Mathematics. Note there are two types of standards: Standards for Mathematical Practice and Standards for Mathematical Content.

Standards for Mathematical Practice

  • Describe “varieties of expertise” students of all levels should develop
  • Rest on important “processes and proficiencies”
  • Describe ways in which students ought to “engage” with the mathematics


Standards for Mathematical Content

  • Provide a balance combination of procedure and understanding
  • Provide clear signposts along the way to the goal of college and career readiness for all students
  • Kindergarten through Eight (K–8) Standards
    • Grade specific
  • High School Standards
    • Listed in conceptual categories that portray a coherent view of mathematics
    • (+) Represents additional mathematics that students should learn in order to take advanced courses
    • (?) Represents specific modeling standards Read more…
Time 2 View

In this video, CCSS math team coordinators Professor William McCallum and Jason Zimba, Ph.D., discuss how the Standards for Mathematical Practice support learning of the Content Standards.

The Importance of Mathematical Practice  
Source: The Hunt Institute  Time 4:01